Across the Border

Tuesday 22nd December 2009: Thanks to all the musicians who played at the Crown on Sunday and to the brave souls who ventured through the snow and ice to see us on Saturday.

Unfortunately David's throat has been invaded by unfriendly bacteria so tomorrow's recording session has been postponed until January.

Saturday 5th December 2009: 'The Voyage' is completed.

Wednesday 2nd December 2009: Another new song; 'A Night Up West' is completed.

Tuesday 1st December 2009: An excellent evening at the inaugural Songwriters Night at the Apple Tree in Crawley. There were plenty of talented musician/composers on view with the next event scheduled for the 5th January.

Monday 30th November 2009: Across The Border will be recording at Remote Live Recordings studio in Leatherhead on Wednesday 23rd December.

Wednesday 25th November 2009: And then there were nine - A couple of nights after Kim e-mailed David a recently unearthed set of unused lyrics dating from 2002, 'The Sieve' joins the rapidly expanding list of numbers for the proposed first album.

Friday 20th November 2009: The eighth new Across The Border composition; 'The Light' is completed.

Tuesday 17th November 2009: Congratulations to the Pixham Residents Association for an excellent and well organised evening at Friends Provident on Saturday. Half of the funds raised will go to the Sri Lanka Schools Tsunami Appeal.

Well done as well to Mike Olney who guested on five Across The Border numbers (see pictures). Despite stage debut nerves he gave a good performance. ''I wanted to get straight back up there'' he said afterwards. Hopefully it'll be a while before he experiences that all too familiar desire to get off a stage as quickly as possible!

Monday 9th November 2009: Back from Ireland after an entirely fabulous weekend. More to follow.....

Tuesday 3rd November 2009: After a busy weekend of gigs and with Ireland beckoning, several new songs were added to the set list this evening including a brand new original; 'Seasons' - see the lyric pages.

Tuesday 25th August 2009:  Flights to Ireland booked! Venue details to follow shortly...

Monday 24th August 2009:  After several false starts, the sixth new original song 'Night Train' is completed.

Sunday 23rd August 2009: Provisional dates for the Ireland tour are the 6th - 9th November 2009 with three gigs. Confirmation and more details to follow....

Saturday 1st August 2009: Toward the end of October David and Kim will begin recording the first Across The Border album at Cliff Sear's studio in Westergate, Sussex.

It's also looking very likely that a first visit to Ireland will take place. Details to follow....

Thursday 30th July 2009: Another new song; 'A Traveller's Tale' is completed.

Sunday 26th July 2009: The 'official' launch of Across The Border takes place at the Crown, Capel in front of a large and appreciative audience.

Thursday 25th June 2009: 'Heatwave' makes a successful public debut at the Emerald Club.

Saturday 20th June 2009: Having left David with lyrics written in the latter days of the Blue Cables, Kim returns from Europe nine days later to find 'Second Sight', 'Kissing The Cobra' and 'Heatwave' completed.

Wednesday 13th May 2009:  David and Kim recorded 'The River' and 'Down Under' at Treetops Studio with Mark Sugden-Best producing.